Genius Hour

Hey guys, this week I’m going to be talking (writing?) about my…

“drum roll” “drum roll” “drum roll” “drum roll” “drum roll”

Genius Hour Presentation!!!

It’s basically when you choose your own topic and search for information about it in class, you’ll then make a presentation about it and talk to the class about what you learned, simple right?

Me, being the closet nerd I am, I choose Submarines during World war 1 for my presentation. I choose that topic since I had never studied World war 1 before and I wanted to learn more about it, I was also interested in submarines, so my simple mind was just like “Why not put them together?” and this is what I came up with, smart right?

My research question was just plainly “How did submarines make an impact during World war 1?”. I learned a whole lot actually, mostly the history of submarines, their origins, who created them, who used them during World war 1, what they were used for and so one, I also looked at how submarines were built but I didn’t look into it to much. I did learn about submarine attacks and how they played out too. (If you’d like to see my presentation I’ll leave the link at the end of this post)

 

Image result for submarines sketchI feel as if the project helped me learn more stuff about submarines and World war 1 altogether (obviously) and that it helped me progress as a student since I’ve never done something like this before and I found it fun. It was something I looked forwards to everyday that we had genius hour. I’d like to think I helped others with my presentation although I’m pretty sure that to them I was just giving them an extra history lesson.

In my next Genius Hour project I plan on studying more about Space or a specifique planet. This presentation will probably just help others understand more about Space and the world outside Earth and stuff. It’ll mostly help me since I’m pretty sure I’m going through a serious space phase at the moment.

And of course, here’s the link to my presentation, I know it’s very simple but I had limited time for the presentation

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1om3ILhYpeRUdCg2VzYh-yHoTUbTge__UNc13kexW3HE/edit#slide=id.p

I hope you enjoyed reading this. Do you guys have an idea for what topic I can use for my next Genius Hour? I would like to hear your suggestions, or do you think Space is a good topic? Answer in the comments 🙂

-Nikon D300, “Submarines”, Creative Commons, 640×457, 12019, Pixabay, 9 June 2013, https://pixabay.com/en/submarine-boat-navy-sea-ocean-140781/                      –MS-29 Yono, “IS-120 Ghadir Class Midget Sub – research quest”, Covert Naval Blog, 26 Dec 2010, http://covertshores.blogspot.sn/2010/12/ms-29is-20-yono-ghadir-class-midget-sub.html

Published by

21laylk

My name is Layla, I'm 14 and proud to be a US citizen! I like to draw, play handball, basketball and video games... Probably to much That's about it...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *